MajorWorth Support

Questions, bugs, or ideas? We read everything.

Contact

Email support@mannyd.dev. If you are reporting a problem, include your iPhone model, iOS version, the school and major you were looking at, and what you were doing when it happened.

Common questions

Why is my school's price different from its offer letter?

MajorWorth shows the average net price (the full cost of attendance minus grants and scholarships) that first-time, full-time students who got federal aid paid in the 2023-24 school year, grouped by family income. Your offer letter is based on your own family's finances, this year's prices, and any merit aid, so it will differ. Prices also tend to rise every year, and public schools' figures are for in-state students. When an income bracket is based on only a few students, the app flags it. For an estimate of your own cost, use the school's net price calculator. Every college that takes federal student aid is required to have one on its website.

Why is a major "not reported"?

The Department of Education withholds earnings and debt figures when too few students are behind a number, to protect their privacy. That is very common for smaller majors, and it means the data exists but was not published. Some figures are also simply not reported by the school or do not apply to it. Earnings only count graduates who received federal aid, which leaves some programs with too few people to report. MajorWorth never fills these gaps with guesses, and Pro cannot show numbers the Department did not publish.

What does "months of pay to cover the cost" mean?

It is the total cost of the program at your income (the yearly net price times the usual length: 4 years for a bachelor's degree, 2 for an associate degree, 1 for a certificate), divided by one month of a typical graduate's pay 4 years after graduation. For example, a $60,000 total cost and $48,000 a year in pay ($4,000 a month) is 15 months. It is based on pay before taxes and living expenses, so it is not how long payoff actually takes. It is a yardstick for comparing schools and majors on the same scale.

Why are the numbers from past years?

Outcomes take years to measure: earnings by major are for students who graduated in 2017-18 or 2018-19, measured 4 years later, and net prices are from 2023-24. MajorWorth uses the newest College Scorecard release and updates automatically when the Department publishes new data. Every screen shows which year a number comes from.

How does the app estimate grants like the Pell Grant?

It uses the federal Pell Grant rules for the FAFSA year of a student starting college next fall: your income bracket, household size, and whether there are one or two parents are compared with the income limits the U.S. Department of Education publishes. It is an estimate only. Your FAFSA decides the real award, and assets, dependency status, and other details can change the result. Change your household details anytime in Settings.

Is the typical cost before or after grants?

After. The typical cost at your income already subtracts the grants students received on average, so do not subtract a Pell Grant again. The grant estimate tells your family what it may qualify for.

Should I pay someone to find scholarships?

No. The FAFSA is free at studentaid.gov, and free scholarship searches exist, including the U.S. Department of Labor's CareerOneStop Scholarship Finder. The Federal Trade Commission warns that services charging fees to find or guarantee scholarships are often scams.

How do I change my income bracket or home state?

Open the Settings tab. Both are stored only on your iPhone.

I bought Pro but it isn't unlocked.

Open Settings in the app and tap Restore purchases, signed in with the same Apple Account you bought it with.

How do I get a refund?

Purchases are handled by Apple: reportaproblem.apple.com.

How do I stop personalized ads?

Go to iOS Settings > Privacy & Security > Tracking and turn MajorWorth off. Pro removes ads entirely.


Privacy Policy | Terms of Use